Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Old Soaker Root Beer

Old Soaker root beer is handcrafted and bottled by The Atlantic Brewing Company, which is located in Bay Harbor, Maine. The ABC opened for business back in 1990 and quickly became a success. In case you were wondering....."Old Soaker" is the granite ledge visible from Sand Beach in Acadia National Park. It disappears at high tide, becoming treacherous to the unsuspecting sailor, This brew has a hall of fame head! Wow....they don't get any better than this one. This soda is very tasty in my opinion. It's very sweet and crisp....it has vanilla, caramel, and touches of maple. There is a lot to like about this root beer. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9/10.

Firewheel Brewing Company Maple Root Beer

Firewheel Brewing Company opened for business back in 2010 and is located in Rowlett, Texas. They make a maple flavored root beer and I'm very excited to try. This brew does produce an excellent head...it's very tall and extremely frothy. The maple is very strong in this one....you smell and taste it immediately. This soda does have a core root beer flavor with some intense maple right on top. Everything was going great....but I just can't shake the aftertaste on this one. The aftertaste is a herbal/medicinal concoction or something....it's very out of place and was very unexpected. All in all, this was a decent soda experience, but I'm thinking it could have been a lot better. 7/10.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Rattlesnake Pete's Root Beer

Rattlesnake Pete's root beer is hand crafted by The Fairport Brewing Company, which can be found in Fairport, New York. The FBC opened their doors for business back in 2010. I got an email from the brewery and they wondered if  I'd be interested in trying their root beer. What a silly question! Yes I know....no label....but please do not let that deter you away from trying! This is so spicy! I love this flavor profile when brewed correctly. It is rather stout and has lots of wintergreen and star anise! I would say there are also subtle notes of honey and licorice in the mix too. Did I mention the head was almost perfect too? This brew is rooty, intense, and has a kick that I just love! Rattlesnake Pete's....Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!! 10/10.

Iron Horse Root Beer

Iron Horse root beer is brewed and bottled in Edina, Minnesota. Iron Horse has been around for awhile now and has an excellent reputation in the root beer community it seems. The head on this brew is a tad above average and has a little foam that sticks around the whole drinking experience. This brew is lightly carbonated, which allows all the rich and spicy flavors to come to the surface. There is lovely caramel and vanilla that are both easily discovered...along with some light cinnamon. This soda has a distinct flavor profile and there's just so much to like about this root beer! Iron Horse....Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Friday, December 12, 2014

Vine Park Brewing Root Beer

This craft brew is brought to you by the good people at Vine Park Brewing Company. VPBC is located in Saint Paul, Minnesota and has been brewing up craft beers since 1995. I wish more breweries would take the time to bottle their root beers because the quality is usually next to none. Vine Park's root beer is no different...it's spicy goodness! The head is more than adequate and is very frothy This brew is very complex and spices are everywhere. I detect some cloves and wintergreen paired with some creamy vanilla and raw honey. Delish! Thanks again to Mark at Glewwe's Castle Brewery, which are makers of the legendary Spring Lake root beer. He was nice enough to pick up some Vine Park and drop off to me on his vacation. What a great guy huh? Vine Park Brewing Company...Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Boots Beverages Sarsaparilla Root Beer

Boots Beverages sarsaparilla root beer is brought to you by the good folks at Kristen Distributing Company, which is located in Bryan, Texas. Boots Beverages has been reborn and their sole purpose is to introduce their creatively crafted sodas. They definitely know how to yield a head. This brew was overflowing my mug with all its foamy goodness. There is an unmistakable authentic sarsaparilla note that greets you immediately. It's followed by a light but standard root beer flavor. The bite has some hints of caramel and wintergreen. Its also a tad creamy with faint accents of vanilla coming to the surface. Make no mistake, this is a tasty root beer....but also a tad unique! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9/10.

Friday, December 5, 2014

Jack Astor's Premium Brewski Root Beer

Premium Brewski root beer is available at all Jack Astor's restaurants. It's brewed and bottled by The Pop Shoppe Soda Company, which is located in Burlington, Ontario. This soda is made exclusively for Jack Astor's. A big thanks to the root beer king of Canada for sending me this craft soda.(AM) The head on this brew is legendary! Wow! How did they do it?!!? This brew is not exactly what I would call full flavored. The flavor is rather dull with a little vanilla. It's very smooth, crisp, refreshing and would go perfect with some fajitas maybe...no bite..no spice..not bad though. 7.5/10.

Flashback Malt Shoppe Root Beer

This root beer is brought to you by The Flashback Malt Shoppe, which is located in Seaside, Oregon. It's brewed and bottled by Orca Beverage Company, which hails from Mukilteo, Washington. This soda is made exclusively for Flashback. The head on this beverage leaves a lot to be desired, I'm afraid...ouch! There is a perfect proportion of vanilla and honey, which combines to make a tasty treat!! The finish is some honey and spice and very nice! Check this brew out! 8.5/10.

Hank's Gourmet Root Beer

Hank's root beer is brought to you by Hank's Beverage Company, which is a Philadelphia based company. Hank's root beer was first introduced in 1996 with tons of fan fair. This soda has a spectacular head with loads of staying power. It's rather thick and creamy...and full bodied. It has a touch too much caramel for my tastes but the vanilla plays a nice role...All in all...very solid but not quite "brew of fame" worthy. 8/10.

WBC Goose Island Root Beer

Goose Island Root Beer is brought to you by the WIT Beverage Company, which is located in Chicago, IL. This is one solid brew. It's rich, thick, and creamy. It keeps an adequate head. The first thing I noticed was all the plush vanilla that comes racing to your taste buds. The elegant finish included some spicy wintergreen and sweet caramel. Not quite elite but very close. 8.5/10.

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Etna Brewing Company Root Beer

Etna Brewing Company is located in Etna, CA. This brewery has roots all the back into the early 1900's. When I popped the top off this brew it was hard not to notice the amazing aroma it produced. As I poured this soda into my mug...I quickly notice a decent head that fizzies away rather quickly. I quickly notice some intense wintergreen and some star anise. It starts our rather tasty and then the finish is hollow and all flavor kind of disappears. It's kind of puzzling...I'm afraid this brew still needs some work. 6/10.

Sunday, November 30, 2014

Old No.3 Root Beer

Old No.3 root beer is hand crafted by The Milwaukee Brewing Company, which hails from Milwaukee, WI. The MBC tapped their first keg back in the November of 2007. This brew has instantly become one of my favorite sodas. Also...this is yet another amazing root beer from Wisconsin!! First off, the head on this brew is what root beer dreams are made of.... very frothy and almost everlasting! This brew has a perfect level of carbonation and the flavor profile is balanced almost impeccable. It's sweet, creamy, and basically heavenly. Old No.3 has got a major rooty kick! There is tons of luscious vanilla, caramel, and licorice to get your mouth watering. This brew has everything along with tremendous mouth feel. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

1919 Draft Root Beer

1919 draft root beer was created in the 1960's by The August Schell Brewing Company. The New Ulm Brewing Company is the one who produces the party kegs that the root beer is sold in. ( This may be vice versa??...it's not real clear who does what...) Both of these breweries hail from Minnesota. There is an interesting story behind the "1919" name. 1919 signifies the year when hundreds of breweries were faced with the prospect of closing because of Prohibition(1919-1933). In order to keep their breweries open, Brewmasters chose to make near-beers, elixirs, and sodas. This practice continued until Prohibition was over. I got to say 1919 root beer is quite delightful. The head was very adequate but did not maintain for as long as I would have liked. You can't help but notice how creamy and full bodied this brew truly is. You got to love that they use real vanilla and pure granulated sugar. I'm also noticing some choice caramel in this remarkable soda. I really hope they'll decide to bottle this brew one day because the demand seems to be there....Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Rock Island Brewing Spiced Pumpkin Root Beer

This is a specialty root beer craft brewed by The Rock Island Brewing Company, which is located in Wading River, NY.  Rock Island really does go the extra mile when brewing their soda. They are sticklers for attention to detail and in the end that assures constant consistency in all their sodas. For example, all their flavors are fired brewed in 50 bottle batches to ensure the highest quality. This root beer is just pure genius! This brew is the first of its kind and it's just extraordinary in so many ways. The head on this brew is creamy and is quite suitable.  The body has all your usual core root beer flavoring but with an infusion of spiced pumpkin. Also, there is an addition of raw honey and pure vanilla that makes this an elixir of the gods. I honestly find myself relishing every swallow I take and I dont want the bottle to end. Can you think of a better beverage to be enjoying over the Thanksgiving Holiday? I can't...:) Rock Island Spiced Pumpkin Root Beer welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 11/10.

Rock Island Brewing Original Root Beer

Rock Island Brewing Company is located Wading River, NY. Rock Island started hand crafting artisan soda in 2013. This brew yields an average or so head...it's sufficient enough in my book at least. Rock Island's original root beer is truly one of a kind. This brew has a solid sassafras flavor with noticeable notes of sweet honey, luscious vanilla, and spicy caramel. It's creamy goodness all in one bottle, Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!! 10/10.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Monterey Soda Root Beer

Monterey Soda root beer is brewed and bottled by The Monterey Beverage Company, which is located in Salinas, CA. This root beer is also certified all organic. Well, the head on this brew is pretty much non-existent. I also can't help but notice that this soda has an unappealing aroma. It's not overly sweet but would say it's a tad creamy. This root beer has an unpleasant aftertaste, which consists of a herbal/medicinal concoction. There is a core root beer flavor here, but I'm none too pleased with it's compliments. 4.5/10.

Duffy's Rowdy Root Beer

Duffy's Rowdy root beer is brewed and bottled in Denver, Colorado. Duffy's root beer has been around since 1929. They also claim to be a Colorado legend.(I'm not sure what that's all about..:) I couldn't help but notice the sugar content in this soda is considerably lower than most other sodas. There is only 25 grams of sugar in Duffy's. I would say the average soda has around 40 grams of sugar. So kudos to Duffy's for making that work....cause I would say this beverage is sweet enough in my opinion. Duffy's root beer produces a fantastic head. It's plenty tall enough and very frothy. This root beer does taste a little different though....maybe because of the sugar content...maybe? It is rather crip, I'm noticing some licorice and some mint. There is also just a touch of vanilla in there too. This stuff is growing on me the more I drink it...not too shabby. 7/10.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Wooley Bugger Root Beer

Wooley Bugger root beer is craft brewed and bottled by The Yellowstone Valley Brewing Company, which is located in Billings, Montana. The head on this brew is medium in size with a little staying power. The birch is strong in this one. The birch is complimented by some licorice and wintergreen. The aftertaste is a little hollow...and there's not much of a bite either. I really like root beers with a strong birch flavor profile. This is pretty good stuff but just not all there for me. 7.5/10.

Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer

Ozark Mountain Bottleworks root beer is hand crafted in Branson, Missouri. OZMB is a family owned business, which was started in 2009. Wow! The head on this one is almost legendary. It's enormous and everlasting and just so foamy. The body is minty creamy goodness!! There is so much vanilla, wintergreen, and touches of caramel. I just can't get enough... This root beer is just so enticing! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

Friday, November 14, 2014

Wild Bill's Rocky Mountain Root Beer

Wild Bill's Rocky Mountain root beer is made by The Wild Bill's Old Fashioned Soda Company, which their headquarters are located in Millington, New Jersey. Wild Bill's has been family owned and operated since 2002. I have heard nothing but positive things about this brew and I'm very eager to try. After finishing this soda, I would definitely have to agree!...The head has medium height, frothy, and lasts a good while. The body is rich, creamy, and definitely on the sweet side. You can surely notice all the vanilla and caramel with hints of wintergreen in the finish. This is truly one exceptional root beer! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Rock It Root Beer

Rock It root beer is brewed and bottled for Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream. Emack & Bolio's headquarters are located in Brookline Village, MA and they opened for business back in 1975. First off, I'm very fond of this label. It's simple but remarkably cool. They combine my two favorite things....Root Beer and Music! The head on this brew is somewhat moderate but is very bubbly. I quickly noticed how smooth and crisp this brew is and yes...very tasty! I would say it's a little on the sweet side but I do like me some sweet. I'm just loving the the divine caramel and lush vanilla notes. They really combine for a heavenly aftertaste. This root beer is truly exquisite!  Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame. 10/10.

Haley and Annabelle's Vanilla Root Beer


Haley and Annabelle's vanilla root beer is bottled by Twigs Beverages, which is located in Shawano, Wisconsin. There is an inspirational story behind the creation of this root beer company. These two girls (Haley&Annabelle) started selling root beer to save for their college fund. In the process, they created a delicious beverage that became an instant hit in the root beer community. I'm guessing that the girls brew the root beer and Twigs takes care of the bottling for them? I'm just guessing here.. These girls know what they are doing, cause this is one magnificent root beer. It has everything! The head is tall, frothy, and everlasting. It has a sweet and creamy body with some luscious bourbon vanilla! Very tasty! What? ....another remarkable root beer from Wisconsin? I'm shocked!!..:) Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Dat' Der' Root Beer

Dat' Der' root beer is brewed under the authority of Lakeshore Bottling, which is located in Green Bay, Wisconsin. If you live in Wisconsin and dine at an Applebee's, you can order one of these delicious root beers. These are available at all Applebee's in Wisconsin. I was a little disappointed to find out that this soda is just a private label Baumeister root beer though. I've yet to find out why root beer is so "dang"(also a root beer company from WI..ha.ha) popular in Wisconsin? There are more root beers brewed in Wisconsin than any other state....and most I would consider elite brews too! Any who,  the head on this brew is just "ok" and fizzes down rather quickly. It's also a little thick and creamy. I'm noticing vanilla and cinnamon more and more after each swallow. It has pleasant finish with some sweet vanilla and cinnamon. It's just not all there for me....it's close to being a hall of famer though....but not quite..8.5/10.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Round Barn Root Beer


Round Barn root beer is the house brew for Pops 66, which is located in Arcadia, Oklahoma. Round Barn root beer is actually brewed and bottled by Huebert Brewing Company, which is located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Pops 66 is one of the many locations located along the historic Route 66. So, if you're ever nearby...you should check this place out. They have an excellent selection of bottled craft soda. It kind of seems they were in a hurry when formulating the recipe for this brew. It does have a decent head and it maintains for awhile. This is also one of the lightest colored brews I've come across too. The flavor profile on this one is a little sloppy. I detect a little wintergreen, but that's about it. They should have at least went the extra mile and used cane sugar instead of corn syrup. It may have helped it taste a little more crisp and not so sticky. It's not awful....but wouldn't say it's that good either. I went through a lot of trouble to get this brew too..:) oh well..5.5/10.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Jason's Deli Root Beer



This root beer is made exclusively for Jason's Deli, which opened for business in 1976. I do believe this company originated in Texas and now has locations al over the U.S. This brew produces an outstanding head with tons of staying power. I would say this soda is a little on the sweet side and the carbonation level seems to be right on. It actually has a somewhat unusual flavor....I'm thinking a combination of caramel and butterscotch,,,with a touch of creamy vanilla. Very smooth!! I really like this one and their food was amazing too! 9/10.

Cappy's Root Beer


Cappy's root beer is the house brew for Cappy's Chowder House, which is located in Camden, Maine. You can actually buy this brew directly through their website. It is brewed and bottled by Private Label Specialties....and is made specially for Cappy's. Unfortunately, this is just a basic root beer and there's nothing too lavish about it. It does have an above average head. I'm afraid the rest is just a generic flavor profile. I was checking out some pictures of the restaurant and of Camden...Wow!! This looks like a beautiful place to visit!! 5/10.

Friday, November 7, 2014

Grizzly Paw Root Beer

This brew is made by The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company, which is located in Canmore, AB. The Grizzly Paw Brewing Company opened for business in 1996. The root beer review king of Canada sent me this brew. Thank you A.M.! Wow! The head on this one sure was in a hurry to go somewhere .(it didn't want to stay and look pretty atop of this brew)..the body is sweet and has your stereotypical or standard root beer flavor. If you look hard enough, you may detect some vanilla and caramel in your aftertaste. There's nothing fancy here...but not too bad. 7/10.

Captain Jack's Root Beer

Captain Jack's root beer is brewed and bottled by Drunk Monkey Brew Works, which is located in Lewistown, PA. Drunk Monkey Brew Works launched their business in 2012. This brew definitely has some originality and I got to give props for that. The body is somewhat dark with very subtle notes of wintergreen, honey, and vanilla. The head on this soda really let me down though....maybe 4 seconds and completely gone. Overall, this is some tasty stuff and would definitely drink again. It's also important to support these small up and coming breweries. Cheers!! 8/10.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Begley's and Bill's Root Beer

Begley's and Bill's root beer is brewed in Orange, CA. This is one of them dreaded sugar free craft sodas....it's also gluten and calorie free. I'm not overwhelmed with excitement to try and review this brew. In case anybody is wondering I found this at a health foods store. Well.....here we go....my first reaction...hey, this isn't too bad at all. It has a decent root beer flavor that's maybe a little herbal, but not horrible. I also detect a little caramel in the mix too. The head is pretty much non- existent and rather dreadful. This is by far the best sugar free root beer I've had to date. Trust me though, that's not saying much....5.5/10

The Edge Olde No.43 Root Beer

Old No. 43 root beer is brought to you by The Edge, which is located in Shrewsbury, MA. Empire Bottle Works has been outsourced to bottle this product. I guess it took them 43 batches to perfect their recipe.....hence the name. This brew tastes wonderful! It only has a 4 second head, which is a little disappointing. Its got kind of a dark body that includes some molasses. The bite is delightfully spicy with some wintergreen maybe....All in all I really enjoyed this soda and will definitely hunt down some more if I'm ever in Boston again. 8.5/10

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Roc City Root Beer

Roc City root beer is brewed by College Club Beverages, which is located in Rochester, NY. College Club opened for business in 1922.  Roc City yields a very impressive head, but didn't want to stick around very long. They really didn't get extremely creative when formulating this brew. It's somewhat basic...it is sweetened with pure sugar cane, which makes it very crisp and refreshing. I do detect a little caramel and maybe a little vanilla too. This is an "OK" brew at best, I'm afraid. 7/10.

Chuck Wagon Root Beer

Chuck Wagon root beer is made The Chuck Wagon Old Fashioned Soda Company, which hails from Pennsylvania. This company was started in 2000. I discovered this brew while I was goggling for other new root beers to try. I eagerly checked out their website and discovered they offered mail orders. Yay!!! I quickly noticed an above average head and some froth. I also notice that it's very sweet, but not too sweet. I'm loving the spicy caramel and the luscious vanilla. It has an outstanding flavor profile and is very smooth. I would imagine this brew would appeal to just about anybody! 9/10.

Weber's Superior Root Beer

Weber's Superior root beer is hand crafted by The Weber's Root Beer Stand, which is located in Tulsa, Oklahoma. This brew has been around since 1891. They use 14 secret natural ingredients and also flavor age in birch bark barrels They bottle this beverage at the peak of its flavoring cycle. This is probably the brew I was the most anxious to try. I was so elated when I found out they were going to start bottling their famous root beer. Weber's produces an average head but it's very creamy and frothy. Birch is the flavor that really stands out to me here. I'm not sure "superior" is even the word for this brew...actually kind of sells it short. The sassafras and vanilla combine with the birch for a very bold and unique flavor. It has such a spicy bite and it's so amazing. This brew is a one of a kind and everybody needs to give it a try...you will not be disappointed!! 10/10

Roundy's Root Beer

Roundy's root beer is brought to you by the Roundy's Supermarkets, their headquarters are located in Milwaukee, WI. Roundy's has been around since 1872. I didn't have huge expectations for this brew...usually store brands just want a safe and generic tasting root beer. Roundy's did decide to bottle theirs, so it's definitely worth a try. It produced an average head and had a little staying power. The flavor wasn't generic at all...it's a tad creamy with some vanilla, caramel, and honey notes. It has  a pleasant bite and a delightful aftertaste. The caramel really makes itself known. I'm quite surprised! 7/10.

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Crafty Characters Root Beer

Crafty Characters root beer was formulated by U.S. Foods. U.S. Foods is located in Rosemont, IL. I read an article almost two years ago and it was announcing that U.S. Foods were going to be releasing a line of artisan craft sodas So....after two years of emails and following up with the company...this beverage is finally ready. The other two flavors include a Ginger Beer and a Mexican Cola. It is also my understanding that a group of Chefs came together to develop the recipes for these craft sodas. This brew is lacking in the head department but that is about it. This root beer is packed full of flavor! It's very creamy and has tons of  rich vanilla jumping right out at you. This brew has your standard root beer flavor with some sweet birch, star anise, cinnamon, and nutmeg. These spices all infused together...gives you a very tasty and unique drinking experience! 9.5/10

Friday, October 24, 2014

Thunder Beast Black Label Root Beer

Thunder Beast root beer is brewed and bottled in Washington, D.C. Thunder Beast has only been around since 2013. It is my honest opinion, I think Thunder Beast is going to available for many years to come! I appreciate that they decided to offer this Black Label version. The Black Label is a similar version to their flagship brew, but crafted slightly different each batch. Very cool! This brew does yield an above average head but with meager staying power. The body is scrumdiddlyumptious! I just adore the savory maple and butterscotch that is just so accommodating on your taste buds, Also, you can't forget the sweet birch and wintergreen finish...So enticing! Welcome to the brew of fame, Thunder Beast. 10/10. 

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Hermann Wurst Haus Root Beer

Hermann Wurst Haus root beer is made by The Crown Valley Brewery, which is located in Sainte Genevieve, Missouri. They also make the Fizzy Izzy root beer. So, I had to make sure these 2 brews used different recipes. I did in fact find out that they are not the same formula. Good deal!! Hermann Wurst Haus root beer produces an incredible head....very thick and frothy! This brew is very smooth. It has notes of vanilla, honey, and licorice. A fabulous flavor profile! There isn't much of a bite, but the aftertaste is very unique...it's almost a fruity or candy licorice flavor....actually very tasty! 8.5/10.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Calvin's 1836 Root Beer

Calvin's 1836 root beer is brewed and bottled in Hermann, Missouri. On August 27, 1836 the colony of Hermann was established. This brew produces a head that just doesn't quit. Wow! I am quickly noticing notes of vanilla, honey, and caramel. This brew has a delightfully sweet body. The bite is spicy caramel and a little carbonation burn. The aftertaste is creamy sweet goodness. I can't get enough of that luscious vanilla! This is yet another elite brew from Missouri. 9/10.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Pithy Little Soda Works Root Beer

Pithy Little Soda Works root beer is brewed at The Pithy Wine Company, which is located in Paso Robles, CA. Pithy is a family business that was established in the 1930's. This gem of a root beer yields one impeccable head! You really got to see it for yourself...This delicacy has heavenly notes of star anise, wintergreen, and luscious vanilla.  It's sweet, creamy, refreshing, and just so delightful!! This certainly is a root beer you don't come across everyday. Splendid! Superb! Perfect! 10/10.

Baco Pop Root Beer & Chocolate

Baco Pop root beer and chocolate is made by Baco Mercat, which is located in Los Angeles, CA. Baco Mercat is an unique restaurant that opened for business in 2012. This restaurant even has their own soda line that includes 5 signature flavors. One of these flavors include the "root beer & chocolate". This soda is distinctive to say the least. I'm struggling to decide whether I like this brew or not...I've never been so puzzled over a root beer in my life! One thing is for sure, I couldn't drink this everyday....but I'm thinking this is ok. It's equal parts root beer and chocolate alright! You better just get a bottle and decide for yourself...6/10.

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Crooked Oak Root Beer

Crooked Oak root beer is made by the good people at Columbus Brands, which is located in Los Angeles, CA. Crooked Oak is the newest and most welcomed addition to the craft soda world. There's no holes in this brew. There is tons of flavor. It's rather hard distinguishing all the individual spices, It does have superior root beer flavor, which seems to be complimented by cloves, licorice, and vanilla. This brew isn't overly sweet nor overly creamy...but it works. They say they're trying to create an unique and refreshing flavor experience. I couldn't agree with them more! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

AJ Stephans Butterscotch Root Beer


AJ Stephans butterscotch root beer is made in Fall River, MA. AJ Stepahns started selling their soda in 1986. AJ's is the latest soda company to brew a butterscotch root beer. To my knowledge, this is the 4th butterscotch brew in existence. This soda produces minuscule head, but does produce one. This butterscotch brew isn't as sweet as the others, which is ok. Please don't expect any traditional root beer flavoring. I do detect a little caramel and vanilla, but mostly it's butterscotch all the way! I do enjoy a butterscotch root beer from time to time....and you can't go wrong with this brew! 8/10


Ginseng Up Root Beer

Ginseng Up root beer is made in Worcester, MA. Ginseng Up was founded in 1981. There are some benefits to having ginseng in your root beer. Ginseng can boost your energy, reduce stress, improve memory and cognitive function, enhance libido, lower cholesterol, eliminate toxins, and even prevent infection. It didn't take me long to figure out that this was a top-notch root beer. It has a really nice head and didn't leave me hanging out alone. This brew is creamy and has a perfect level of sweetness. It has a bold vanilla aftertaste that's just to die for. I hope I can find more bottles of this brew in the future. 9/10.

Friday, October 10, 2014

Red Barrel Root Beer

Red Barrel root beer is craft brewed by The Keuka Brewing Company, which is located Hammondsport, NY. They opened their doors for business in the fall of 2008. Apparently this was a very popular brew in NYC in the late 1800's. I also read the now owner won this root beer recipe in a game of poker. Read this ingredient list: cane sugar, quillaia extract, malt extract, vanilla bean, ginger, clove, and cinnamon. I thought with those spices....that this would be amazing. This brew is lacking in every department. It was a very unusual flavor, which isn't the greatest. This soda needs a lot of work! 4.5/10

Twig's Root Beer

Twig's root beer is made by Twig's Beverage, which is located in Shawano, Wisconsin. Twig's Beverage was started in 1951. Lets start with the head.....oh wait!!!??!! What head? This brew produced no head what so ever. Lets move on...shall we? I'm quite fond of this root beer. It's not complex or creamy...but there's something unique here. I can't put my finger on it though..Any who, this is good stuff. 8.5/10

Glacier Brewing Company Root Beer

This root beer is made by The Glacier Brewing Company, which is located in Polson, Montana. This brew produces an above average head with some staying power. However, I'm struggling to find any flavor or spice in this brew. It's has a very nice velvety smooth texture...but this stuff is bland!! I'm kind of shocked because Glacier has an outstanding reputation. It's just very light on flavor and just plain hollow. 5/10.

Black Sheep Root Beer

Black Sheep root beer is made by The Otter Creek Winery, which is located in Philadelphia, NY. The Otter Creek Winery opened for business in 2007. This brew is formulated with sarsaparilla and brown sugar. You can really taste the brown sugar in this one. Divine!! The sarsaparilla really does incorporate an unique flavor in this beverage. It's also hard to ignore the silky smooth texture and the angelic vanilla finish...this brew truly is remarkable!! Otter Creek Winery says "We think a finer root beer has yet to be bottled". I might just have to agree with them...:) 10/10

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Boom Chugga Lugga Cherry Root Bear

Boom Chugga Lugga Cherry Root Bear is made by Cherry Republic, which is located in Glen Arbor, Michigan. Cherry Republic was established in 1989 and now has four locations across the state of Michigan. I was a little apprehensive about trying this brew. I wasn't completely sold on the idea of mixing cherry with root beer. Well, I could not have been more wrong... I was fascinated there was a perfect balance of cherry to root beer. They mix quite well together actually. I would say it's more of a black cherry flavor and just a tad of vanilla shows up in the finish. There's basically zero head to speak of however....and the bite is basically all carbonation burn. This being said.... There really is a lot to admire about this brew...It's very unique and tastes heavenly!! 9/10.

Propeller Brewing Root Beer

This root beer is made by the Propeller Brewing Company, which is located in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Propeller opened for business in 1997. My friend AM sent this one to me. This brew does produce an adequate head, which is acceptable in my book. I would prefer this soda to be a little sweeter. In this case, the flavor in this one is a little anemic....so some extra sweetness would be beneficial. There is a somewhat solid finish with some creamy vanilla. There's not much bite to speak of though...I wouldn't say this brew is superb, but it's definitely satisfactory. 7/10.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Central Coast Brewing Root Beer

This root beer is made by the Central Coast Brewing Company, which is located in San Luis Obispo, CA. The brewery opened their doors for business in 1998. The head on this brew is rather large, but tends to diminish rather quickly. The level of sweetness is almost perfect. Its a tad creamy and has hints of vanilla and wintergreen. This brew is rather delightful and is almost top-notch....but not quite, I'm afraid. 8.5/10