Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Rivermen Brewing Company Root Beer

Rivermen Brewing Company is located in Belmont, North Carolina. They are a somewhat new addition to the brewing world. They opened their doors in May of 2015. The idea for this brewery started with four fishing buddies with a dream. The more fishing trips they took the more ideas they developed for opening their own brewery. I'm grateful they decided to offer a bottled root beer so soon after opening. Their root beer is handcrafted and is sweetened with pure sugar cane. Their brew is thick and creamy and sports a large head. It has a very rooty foundation with vanilla undertones. I'm also detecting some small traces of liquorice root and some wintergreen. The finish is extremely smooth and creamy.I'm quite pleased! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9/10.

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Crown Brewing Root Beer

Crown Brewing was founded in 2008 and is located in Crown Point, Indiana. The "Crown" name was brought back to life. Crown Brewing closed in 1916, which was quite prominent in the early 1900's. They decided to have a craft soda festival and thought this would be the perfect stage to introduce their bottled root beer. This is a big deal to me because most breweries just offer soda on tap. They went all out on this label. It's very colorful and commands attention. A decent head was built as I pored this brew into my trusty mug. Nothing really is jumping out at me here. It is very smooth has a creamy mouth feel to it. They sweeten their sodas with the finest raw sugar cane and even use water from Lake Michigan. I'm really enjoying the wintergreen and and vanilla, which really make themselves known in the finish. One thing is for sure....this is a solid root beer! 8.5/10.

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

New Planet Brewery Draft Root Beer

New Planet Brewing Company is located in Boulder, Colorado. They have distinguished themselves by being the first to offer a line of reduced and gluten free beers. There are numerous people who are sensitive to gluten and this now gives them a safe way to enjoy a cold tasty beer. Bravo New Planet!! Their root beer is also gluten free and also very delicious! It is also rather unique! It has a lighter core...as far as a traditional sassafras flavor goes, It's maybe a little on the sweet side, but is also rather creamy. It's very smooth and lightly carbonated too. The head had a little life to it and provided a creamy top. The finish is rather intriguing and impressive. It's kind of hard to place, but it's almost like vanilla, chocolate, and coconut have combined forces here. It works. Yummy! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!! 9.5/10.

Red Hare Brewing Company Root Beer

Red Hare Brewing Company is located in Marietta, Georgia. Red Hare started out as a basement brewery. They received such rave reviews they decided to open to the public. Red Hare opened for business in 2011. They are the first brewery in Georgia to can their beers and you can now find their products in Georgia, Tennessee, and South Carolina. Like many of the great breweries out there...they decided to offer a root beer as a non-alcoholic option for their patrons. I've heard their root beer has been well received and will soon be available in cans. (I'm crossing my fingers they bottle their root beer in at-least 22oz  bombers too...not a big fan of cans) You can also purchase kegs directly from the brewery. Now on to the review.....shall we? It definitely starts out a little spicy with traces of wintergreen. It has a nice rooty core that cannot be ignored.  The finish gives way to more of a creamy vanilla flavor. I'm very impressed on the sweetness and carbonation levels...impeccable in my opinion. They use pure sugar cane as their main sweeter, which never disappoints. The head could use some work, but that's mostly just for show! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9/10.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Old Bust Head Brewing Company Root Beer

Old Bust Head Brewing Company is located in Warrenton, Virginia. I cant thank them enough for taking the time to ship me some of their tasty root beer. I'm very impressed. The head was rather sudsy and had ample staying power. This brew really bites! Wow! It has a bold spicy bite packed with tons of flavor. I'm detecting some star anise, wintergreen, and even some cinnamon maybe. The finish was rather delightful too. Some creamy vanilla makes its way into the mix. It is a welcomed addition, I must say. All in all, Old Bust Head has created quite the formidable brew! 8.5/10.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Ramblin Root Beer

Welcome back Ramblin Root Beer!  Ramblin was considered the root beer of the 80's. It was once owned by The Coca-Cola Company, but was dropped when they purchased Barq's Root Beer in the mid 90's. Monarch Beverages decided it was time revive this once soda icon. This brew has one crazy thick head on it! I was very impressed. Ramblin really does have a distinctive flavor to it. It packs quite the punch. It starts with a sharp sassafras core followed by light cola undertones. The finish is more potent sassafras, which leads to a crisp creamy vanilla. I just got to give Monarch a big thanks for bringing back this once iconic soda. Bravo Bravo! 8/10.

Jaden James Brewery Root Beer Soda

Jaden James Brewery is located in Grand Rapids, Michigan. This brewery is also combined with the Cascade Winery. I guess they wanted to monopolize the craft beer, gourmet soda, and the fine wine market. These fine folks were nice enough to ship me a couple bottles of their gourmet root beer. The head was adequate but nothing too extraordinary. Wow, this root beer has a fantastic and very inviting aroma. It has a very distinctive spicy body. It has noticeable traces of wintergreen and star anise, which cultivates a black licorice type flavor. I was elated to find the finish be smooth, creamy, and vanilla. Be ready... because this brew has some bite! 8.5/10.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

The People's Crafthouse Root Beer

This is the brainchild of The People's Crafthouse! This is their signature soda! They are located in Penticton, British Columbia and have been crafting sodas, beer, and wine since 2004. If you are looking for a unique and complex craft root beer.....look no further! This is somewhat similar to the Burger 55 brew. This one is somewhat sweeter and creamier, which males it my favorite of the two. They are both very tasty delights in my book! The ingredients include: Sarsaparilla, Sassafras, Vanilla Beans, Cinnamon Bark, Juniper Berries, Wild Cherry Bark, Ginger Root, Birch Bark, Molasses, Dandelion Root, Liquorice Root, Hops, Burdock Root, and Maple Extract. The root beer is sweetened with Organic Cane Sugar. I wish I had access to such a great establishment, which makes handcrafted all natural sodas. I hope the people of Penticton really appreciate how lucky they really are! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!!! 10/10

Schnitz Brewing Company Root Beer

Schnitz Brewery and Pub is a rising star in the mid-west. Schnitz Brewing is located in Jasper, Indiana. They are somewhat new to the brewing world, but are really making a name for themselves. They have combined a brewery. restaurant, catering, and a hotel to become quite the juggernaut in Jasper. I recently discovered they brewed their own root beer and placed an order to have a few bottles sent my way. I was a little disappointed the bottles didn't have a label because they have an outstanding and very appealing logo, The root beer is very tasty! It has a very bold rootyness to it. It also has strong traces of wintergreen. They finish is rather spicy and has a creamy vanilla aftertaste. I was quite pleased with this brew and wish Schnitz Brewing nothing but the best! 8/10.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

DeadWorld Slow Decay Vanilla Root Beer

This is yet another tasty treat from the good citizens over at DeadWorld. This soda is called Slow Decay, which is a vanilla flavored root beer. They enjoy root beer so much they wanted to have two choices for their patrons. This brew has a very enticing aroma with strong scents of vanilla and butterscotch. The head is more than adequate and is very frothy. This root beer is rich in flavor but not overly sweet. It has a delectable mouth-feel and a precise carbonation level. The butterscotch and vanilla really make themselves known immediately. In fact, they command attention! I'm also noticing small undertones of caramel and maybe some brown sugar. DeadWorld also goes the extra mile and uses pure sugar cane as their main sweetener. The finish is quite exquisite with more luscious vanilla and a solid bite. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!!! 9.5/10.

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

DeadWorld Twilight Shuffler Root Beer

Twilight Shuffler is brought to you by the frightening folks over at DeadWorld Zombie Soda, which is owned by Caprice Brands LLC. Ground zero for this zombie soda infection is in Livonia, Michigan. All their sodas have all natural flavors with un-natural tastes.(Ha Ha) All of the companies soda names and characters are based off the cult favorite comic book series DeadWorld. The head on this brew is very frothy and has a little staying power. The flavor profile starts with very bold rootyness and also has a spicy core. I detect some licorice and strong notes of wintergreen. It's more of a darker brew! It's very crisp and refreshing. The finish is more spicy goodness with a solid bite. Welcome to Brad's Brew of  Fame!!! 9/10.

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

55 Brand Root Beer

This one of a kind brew is specially made for Burger 55, which is located in Penticton, British Columbia. So yes, this brew has traveled a long journey to be with me today! Thank you again C.B. for being a stand up guy! In all the root beers I've tried, I'm still surprised I can be amazed by greatness. This brew is rather hard to describe because the flavor and spices are coming from all over the place! Also, it's unlike an craft root beer I've ever tasted before. To say this brew is unique or special is almost a disservice in some regards.  They use all natural ingredients that include: sarsaparilla root, hops, black strap molasses, ginger root, wild cherry bark, dandelion root, birch bark, juniper berries, cinnamon sticks, liquorice root, vanilla beans, and sweetened with organic cane sugar. Its mildly sweet, creamy, and has an impeccable carbonation level. This brew is the definition of "complex". Bravo!! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Wisco Pop! Root Beer

Wisco Pop! is a somewhat new company to the soda spectrum. They are based out of Viroqua, Wisconsin. Their soda is all natural, fresh, and handcrafted. Please don't be surprised when you see an expiration date because their contains no preservatives.They have been around a few years and started by just selling kegs of their soda to local establishments. I discovered them through their kick-starter campaign. They were trying to raise enough money in order to start bottling their sodas. They were successful and now all three of their flavors are available in glass bottles. (Root Beer, Ginger Brew, Cherry Bomb) Unfortunately, I had to get creative on obtaining this brew. The owners of Wisco Pop! were unaccommodating to say the least. All hard feeling aside...I am a professional here and have to maintain a certain level of integrity. 
The brew forms an adequate head and has a sweet herbal aroma to it. I would say this brew is very comparable to Tree Fort, for those who have tried it. Wisco Pop! uses wintergreen, sarsaparilla root, maple syrup, cloves, vanilla beans, molasses, cinnamon, and spearmint as ingredients in this brew. This is not going to be like your typical root beer but if you keep an open mind you may find it enjoyable. It is definitely a healthier option for those who have restrictions on their diet. Its very smooth and refreshing with a spicy aftertaste. Not bad! 7/10.

Monday, June 15, 2015

Doggone Good Soda Company Butterscotch Root Beer

This is yet another tasty treat from the Doggone Good Soda Company, which is located in Orange, California. This is their Butterscotch Root Beer and boy it was yummy! I would say this very close to being equal parts root beer and butterscotch. I mean that most of the Butterscotch Root Beers are 80% butterscotch and are extremely on the sweet side. This brew was not overly sweet, which made it exceptional and unique. It's still creamy butterscotch goodness with a solid sassafras core with touches of vanilla mixed in. The head was more than adequate and the finish is just a creamy butterscotch utopia. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!! 9/10.

Sunday, June 14, 2015

Garrison Brewing Company "Cannonball Root Beer"

Cannonball Root Beer is brewed and bubbled by The Garrison Brewing Company, which is located in Halifax, Nova Scotia. GBC opened up shop back in 1997. The Canadian Root Beer King and I have been trying to get this brew for almost 2 years now...one of his friends came through and now we can finally give this root beer a try. This brew is somewhat bold and rather rooty. It has a nice spicy bite, which includes some wintergreen and licorice root, I believe. The head is quite stout and plentiful, which lasts almost the whole drinking experience. This is very good stuff, but just not quite unique enough to be considered great. 8.5/10

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Doggone Good Soda Company Root Beer

Doggone Good Soda Company is located in Orange, California. Although, they've only been around a few years....they're starting to gain notice in the craft soda world. Doggone is a father and son company,which specializes in fresh soda and uniqueness. They hand bottle all their sodas to ensure maximum quality. They also offer custom labels for whatever occasion needs to be celebrated. I got one of their 22oz flip top bottles, which has been wax sealed. Very Neat! Their root beer has a more traditional flavor with light notes of vanilla coming to the surface. It's rather crisp and refreshing....as I find myself drinking rather quickly. This brew even sports a nice head and maybe shows off a little bit. These are the companies we need to make sure get our support! This a very solid brew! 8.5/10.

Monday, June 1, 2015

Indian Wells Brewing Co "Special Reserve" Root Beer

Indian Wells Brewing Company is located in Inykern, California. They tapped their first keg back in 1995 and have been going strong ever since. All their beers and sodas use pure artesian spring water from the historic Indian Wells Spring. This company is also the maker of Death Valley Soda, which is also very popular. First, check out this cool 22 oz bottle and their elegant label. They also seal each Special Reserve bottle with candle wax. Too Cool! This is one outstanding root beer. The ingredient list includes: Sarsaparilla, birch root, wintergreen, ginger, wild cherry bark, and licorice root. Of coarse, all their sodas are sweetened with pure sugar cane!!  The body is very intricate and has an infusion of flavor! I'm finding myself savoring every swallow. The body has strong traces of wintergreen, licorice, and sarsaparilla. You can also taste lighter notes of birch. The vanilla really shines in the finish and has compliments of wintergreen. The head on this brew is top notch just like this root beer. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

Uncle Scott's All Natural Root Beer

Uncle Scott's is a small and family owned root beer company. Uncle Scott's is brewed and bottled in Mooresville, North Carolina. You can order 6 packs through their website if you are not close to North Carolina. This root beer is rather complex and definitely full flavored. It has a rather interesting and intriguing ingredient list: Vanilla, natural caramel, cinnamon oil, wood extract, licorice root oil, anise oil, and natural gum arabic. The also use pure cane sugar as their sweetener. I surely taste the cinnamon and would say it's the dominant flavor. It's complimented by the anise and licorice, which are lighter in flavor. The finish is extreme cinnamon and a touch of vanilla. The cinnamon is just too much for my tastes. I truly believe if they toned down the cinnamon this would be an exceptional soda. Unfortunately, the head was lacking and basically non-existent too. This brew just needs a little more TLC. 7/10.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Ocean City Brewing Company "Twisted Root" Root Beer

Twisted Root is gently handcrafted and micro-brewed by The Ocean City Brewing Company. OCBC is located in Ocean City, Maryland.  Well, it's time to get a little excited!  This very well could be the perfect brew. This root beer has a perfect balance of  spicy goodness and creamy greatness. The body is rather complex, spicy, creamy, and sweet. It starts out spicy and has perfect proportions of wintergreen, licorice, and anise. Then it fades into a thick creamy vanilla utopia and has angelic mouth-feel. This is all on top of a premium and rich sassafras core. The head is modest but yields an inch or two of frothy delight.  This root beer is true bliss! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!!! 10/10.

Sky Valley Organic Root Beer

This brew is distributed by Sky Valley Foods and their headquarters are located in Danville, Virginia. You should be able to find this beverage at your local Whole Foods Market. Thank you to the founder of "Root Beer Trackers" for letting me know of its existence. On to the review....The body is rather week and fruity. Apple cider vinegar is a listed ingredient in this brew. Sky Valley doesn't do a very good job covering up the fact this brew is supposed to be a healthier soda option. It actually starts out tasting like a decent root beer and even has traces of vanilla, but fades into a rather unpleasant hollow graveyard. If you want a root beer just drink a root beer! 4.5/10.

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Swamp Pop File` Root Beer

Swamp Pop is a new-comer to the craft soda world. They hail from Cajun Country!! All their flavors are Louisiana-inspired, use all natural flavors, and are sweetened with pure Louisiana sugarcane. I'm afraid I'm not tasting a root beer here. It tastes like what Id imagine a  super premium craft cola would taste like. This is a very tasty soda! I love it...but there's no resemblance of a root beer present. The head is impeccable and the taste is remarkably unique. Maybe I should try their cola? You think maybe it's root beer-like?
Cola grade: 10/10 Root Beer grade: 5/10.

Cubby Bear Root Beer

The Cubby Bear is a very popular joint located near Wrigley Field in Chicago, Illinois. It's the famous sports bar where all the Cub's fans go after all the home games. They even decided to start selling their own root beer. Cubby Bear Root Beer is brewed and bottled by The Minhas Craft Brewery, which is located in Monroe, Wisconsin. The body is rather simple. It's a tad creamy and smooth. Vanilla is basically the only real detectable note here. A fruity and somewhat unpleasant flavor shows up in the finish though..This is just an average brew with nothing too unique going on here. 7/10.

Langers Gourmet Root Beer

Langers Gourmet Root Beer is brought to you by the healthy folks over at Langers Juice Company, which is located in southern California. Langers has become a major force in the ultra competitive juice industry. They actually make all their juices and sodas in small batches. I love that attention to detail! Langers sodas have no high fructose corn syrup, no crystalline fructose, no artificial colors or flavors, no sodium, and no preservatives. The body is very rich and creamy. I hope you like root beer with your honey! ..or wait?? The honey is rather intense for me and I've never uttered those words before today. Honey and vanilla are the two most crucial ingredients , in my opinion. The vanilla is very noticeable and also very pleasant. They use madagascar pure vanilla extract. I would love to see a more rooty-ness in the body because it goes to a rather hollow place after the honey and vanilla. The head also needs more work. Overall, not bad...just needs some minor changes. 7/10.

Capt'n Eli's Root Beer

Capt'n Eli's Root Beer is micro-brewed in small batches by The Shipyard Brewing Company. They started bottling this popular soda in 2002. Capt'n Eli is also the only soda company in the world with its own comic book series "The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli". This is a full flavored brew! The body is very spicy...there is wintergreen, anise, vanilla. I also detect a touch of licorice. This brew all comes together with a solid sassafras core and a head that is borderline legendary! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!!! 9/10.

Friday, May 1, 2015

Sprecher 30th Anniversary Honey Root Beer

As a thanks to all of their loyal customers,, Sprecher is releasing a 30th Anniversary Honey Root Beer. The new Honey Root Beer has all the same great flavors as the original brew with the addition of wild flower honey nose and flavor. It's made exclusively with Wisconsin honey from their longtime supplier in Germantown, Wisconsin. The Honey Root Beer has a different flavor profile than their well-known version, which is also made with Wisconsin honey. Sprecher wants to stress that this isn't a replacement. The body is very sweet, rich, thick, and a tad creamy. Wow, this is very sweet...but in a good way! There is no mistaking that there is honey in this brew. It is very noticeable and also very tasty. I wish the head would have developed more...but I was left hanging, I'm afraid. I'm thinking the root beer core flavors could be more powerful. I bet that would really compliment the raw honey. Overall, this was just plain delicious! Sprecher will never disappoint a true root beer fan! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!!! 9.5/10.

Monday, April 27, 2015

Pizza Vinoteca Root Beer

Pizza Vinoteca is an up and coming pizza chain on the east coast. Pizza Vinoteca's headquarters are located in Arlington, Virginia. This company believes in offering the freshest and the most healthiest ingredients. A few years ago they decided to start making all natural house-made sodas, which includes a root beer. According to their label this root beer is: "A brewers take on old-school root beer with madagascar vanilla, sarsaparilla, cascade hops, and burdock." The body is very rooty and also has an earthy feel to it. It's not overly sweet and it's gently carbonated. The burdock is very distinctive and is easily placed. The finish is creamy vanilla burdock with spice. The head is overwhelming impressive...just like this root beer! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Anchor Ginger Root Beer

Anchor is another brand that has been brought back to live by Orca Beverage, which is located in Mukilteo, Washington. Anchor's slogan... "As a tribute to all the Sea Dogs and Scallywags looking for adventure on the high seas. Anchor has the sweet rich taste of root beer with a soothing touch of ginger to keep you sailing all day." The body on this brew is very sweet and rich...I agree. The ginger play nicely in this brew too. This soda has one heck of a bite! There are also noticeable traces of caramel and vanilla, which make themselves known in the finish. The head was non-existent on this nearly remarkable brew. 8.5/10.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Rainbow Root Beer

Rainbow Root Beer was concocted by the creative folks over at The Lockdown Brewing Company. They opened up shop back in 1995 and are located in Folsom, CA. Rainbow Root Beer was named after the famous Folsom Rainbow Bridge. Check out this list of ingredients!! (Licorice Bark, Sweet Dried Orange Peel, Cinnamon, and Vanilla) The body is very complex and really does have a "rainbow" of flavors. The root beer core is a little lacking. The head was just "OK". You can really taste the cinnamon and vanilla with a touch a fruity flavor. The finish was more distinctive cinnamon and choice vanilla with a touch of spice. I really appreciate how unique this brew truly is...Bravo!! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!! 9.5/10.

Thomas Kemper Root Beer

Thomas Kemper has been crafting sodas in the upper northwest for the past 20 plus years. Thomas Kemper is small company and still believes soda should be brewed in small batches. Their root beer is made with pure natural northwest honey and pure cane sugar.The body is very rich but is also extremely smooth. There are strong traces of honey with exquisite compliments of vanilla. The root beer core could be more powerful in this brew. The head was fantastic and had valuable staying power. The finish was a honey and vanilla creme machine! 8.5/10.

Maine Root Root Beer

For the last 6 years Maine Root sodas have been gaining tremendous traction in the craft soda world. This company has impeccable attention to detail and only use the healthiest and the freshest ingredients in their sodas. They use Fair Trade Certified sugar as the sweetener in their beverages. They care about their environment and they also want the healthiest ingredients to enter one's body. You wouldn't know this is meant to be a healthier choice for soda drinkers. This brew matches up equally with some of the great root beers on the market. Maine Root has a full flavored body with lots of tasty spices. It has strong notes of wintergreen with undertones of anise and clove. The head is more than just adequate and packs a nice bite. Please support companies like these guys! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Barton Springs Soda Company Root Beer

Barton Springs Soda Company opened for business in the spring of 2012. Barton Springs Soda is handcrafted in Austin, Texas. A portion of the company's proceeds go to the "Barton Springs Foundation". The body on this brew is rather sweet and sticky. They use the highest quality of cane sugar, which helps in making this soda a little crisp and refreshing. I wish they'd knock down the sweetness a level or two though...I detect some caramel and wintergreen notes. The head was average at best...and I'm afraid this root beer is average at best. 7/10.

Trader Joe's Vintage Root Beer

Trader Joe's is a natural foods store and was established back in the 1950's. This chain has become very popular and has stores all over the country. I was recently informed by one of their employees that they have eliminated their craft soda line. So...if you'd like to try this brew, you better hurry. I really enjoyed this soda. It has a distinct birch and wintergreen core, which I always tend to enjoy. The second layer has smaller notes of vanilla, caramel, and anise. The head was solid and the finish consisted of some spicy birch and wintergreen. This is a rather complex brew and I applaud their efforts! 8.5/10.

Brigham's Brew Root Beer

In 1986 the first brewery  in Utah was born and it was named Wasatch. It is located on Main Street in Park City, Utah. It is my understanding that the people of Utah take their root beer very seriously. The state has very strict alcohol laws, which has lead many people to root beer. Brigham's Brew might just be an instant classic! This is one amazing brew!  This is a full-bodied root beer. It's savory and smooth. The luscious honey and velvet-like vanilla are the dominate core flavors here on top of the rooty goodness.There are also smaller notes of wintergreen and licorice that make their way through after the initial explosion of flavor. The maltdextrin creates a heavenly mouth feel and also contributes to a stout head. The finish is just more tasty vanilla and sweet honey....sooooo yummy! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

Fireman's Brew Root Beer

In the year 2000, two fireman named Rob and Ed started their own beverage company called Fireman's Brew. These two hail from the Los Angeles area. A portion of their proceeds are donated to "The Fallen Firefighters Foundation", which is located in Emmitsburg, Maryland. Fireman's Brew sports a nice adequate head. The body is dark and spicy. I also detect a little vanilla, which is a nice compliment. I'm mostly noticing wintergreen with small notes of anise and clove. This finish is a blend of spices and a touch of vanilla, This is a smooth and tasty brew! It will "Extinguish Your Thirst"! 8.5/10.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Farmer's Brew Butterscotch Root Beer

Farmer's Brew Butterscotch Root Beer is handcrafted by Twig's Beverage Company. They are located in Shawano, Wisconsin, which is a charming quaint town. They are known for their quality sodas because they are "Tops in Pops". They recently added this butterscotch root beer to their lineup as a tribute. This special root beer was made to commemorate the Farmer's Brewery in Shawano, WI. In 1908, a group of farmers organized the brewery, survived Prohibition, and bottled beer until the 1940's. I sure love the aroma of butterscotch! The head on this brew is somewhat lacking and could use some work. Most butterscotch brews are tad overly sweet for my tastes, but this has a perfect level of sweetness. It has an impeccable balance of butterscotch on top of a classic root beer core. I'm also detecting some vanilla, which produces a creamy mouth feel. The cane sugar really adds to the crisp full flavor in this brew. This is my new favorite butterscotch root beer! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9/10.

Sea Dog Root Beer

Sea Dog Brewing Company opened in 1993 on the coast of Maine. This company is rapidly growing and now have 6 locations along the eastern seaboard. This brew is very smooth and somewhat creamy. Wow! The head on this soda is epic! There's not much bite present here, but I'm enjoying the small notes of wintergreen and anise. The finish has a creamy vanilla essence with some spicy zest. This brew might the definition of a "solid" root beer. I like it but I just do not love it. 8/10.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Wild Bill's Espresso Root Beer

Northwoods Soda & Syrup Company is located in Williamsburg, Michigan. They opened up shop back in 1988. I love the fact that this company offers 3 different root beers for me to try. This particular brew is espresso flavored. They teamed up with a local coffee joint (Roast & Toast) to develop this truly unique beverage. The head on this brew is ample. Espresso is definitely the most distinct flavor here. There is also some chocolate in the mix too. The finish is light root beer flavored with a touch of vanilla. I'm impressed on how well balanced and layered this soda is...It's like I'm on an exploration of flavor. I can't deny how unprecedented this brew is and also how they made a difficult thing work. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9/10.

Druthers Black Cow Vanilla Creme Root Beer

Druthers Beverage Company is located in Oglesby, Illinois. I couldn't find a great deal of info on this company. Their website is very basic, but they also offer an "Orange Cow" and a "Red Cow". This root beer is vanilla creamed flavored, which I can always get behind. The body is very thick and creamy. The vanilla creme is very noticeable! It has a flavor that's similar to a root beer float..the head was quite sizable too. The finish is more creamy  vanilla that's divine. This brew is very close to greatness, but it's not quite unique enough....8.5/10.

Simpson Springs Root Beer

Simpson Spring Soda Company is a family owned and operated company that offers pure spring bottled water and an array of bottled sodas. Simpson Springs is located in South Easton, Massachusetts. They seem to pride themselves on history and maintaining their family legacy. I was surprised to see that their "White Birch" is their flagship and top selling soda. In most cases the root beer is the headliner. I was quite pleased with this brew. It has an amazing minty vanilla aroma. The head was very stout with much staying power. The root beer core could use some more kick, but there's nothing unpleasant present here. The finish was very pleasing, which consisted of a creamy minty paradise. 8/10.

Monday, March 16, 2015

Homer Soda Company Maple Root Beer

Homer Soda Company is located in Homer, IL. They are becoming a fixture in craft soda distributing. The company started out just selling vintage sodas in their small town. Homer Soda Company also hosts a craft soda festival every year, which allows travelers and patrons to taste test 100's of different soda. So...like every company when they are expanding... have to get even more creative. Homer decided they should start selling their own soda, which I'm hoping doesn't stop here. They have released a maple root beer and It's already getting rave reviews. Wow! The first thing I notice is how sweet this brew is, which can be expected when you combine maple syrup and cane sugar. I'm also noticing how quickly the head has dissipated, but that's mainly just for show. This soda does have a nice classic root beer flavor that is overshadowed by the maple. The maple is a little powerful, but still desirable. Then it transforms into a layer of caramel butterscotch undertones, which are very welcoming. The finish is a sweet maple butterscotch roller coaster of flavor! This is a very unique soda and I've already went back for seconds. Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10

River City Root Beer

River City Root Beer is distributed by Blue Dog Beverages, which is located in Sacramento, CA. They are a beverage distributing company, who have also formulated their own root beer. I'm really enjoying the label on this one...they decided on a more elegant or fancy logo, which is very appealing in my eyes. This brew does yield one outstanding head. It's very frothy and it maintains throughout the whole drinking experience.  The aroma is very welcoming too! The root beer is lightly carbonated and has strong minty and vanilla notes. They are followed by strong rooty undertones and light licorice and nutmeg. This root beer just screams excellence! The finish is a heavenly minty creamy dream! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 10/10.

Sunday, February 22, 2015

Tito's Old Fashioned Root Beer

Tito's Cantina is a mexican restaurant located in Middletown, Rhode Island. They have their own line of specialty sodas, which includes a root beer, The head on this brew did leave a little to be desired...it fizzed away rather quickly. This root beer has a nice rooty kick to it! The body is not overly sweet or overly creamy but does have some intense sassafras notes. There is also generous proportions of wintergreen with a touch of vanilla. The spicy wintergreen really makes itself known in the finish. This is an unique tasting soda and is almost brew of fame worthy! 8.5/10.

Frostop Root Beer

Frostop Premium Root Beer opened their first stand in Springfield, Ohio back in 1926. By 1958, Frostop had a soda shop in every state. It is now 2015 and Frostop is still making its creamy root beer right here in Ohio. It took me a few minutes to actually finish pouring this soda into my mug. Frostop definitely sports one of the best heads I've ever seen. The body is so luscious and creamy. There is generous amounts of silky smooth vanilla, candy flavored caramel, and a touch of spicy wintergreen. The finish is just creamy spicy superiority! I'm not surprised this company has been around almost a 100 years! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame!! 10/10.

Iggy's Root Beer

Iggy's Doughboys and Chowder House is a fine establishment located in Warwick, Rhode Island. They also have their own line of products, which includes a soda line. Their old fashioned root beer is made exclusively for them by Gravino Enterprises, which is also located in Warwick, RI.  This is a decent tasting soda, which includes an adequate rooty kick. The body is a tad creamy but could use some more premium sassafras flavor to it. The head was below average but existent...It's my belief this root beer would be a delightful compliment to any meal of your choosing,,,heck give Iggy's a try! 7/10.

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Otto's Root Beer

Otto's Pub and Brewery is located in State College, PA. They opened for business back in 2002.  This is another cool label...it's a cartoon of some type of crazy critter with a huge mug of frosty root beer. Very Nice! This brew sports a nice and frothy head...nothing too fancy but desirable. This brew has a bold sassafras core with undertones of vanilla, caramel, and light wintergreen. This brew is formulated with dark brown sugar and cane sugar, which develops a truly unique taste. The finish is a creamy brown sugar wonderland! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Hummingbird Hill Root Beer

This is my second review from the Hummingbird Hill Soda Company, which is located in Silverdale, Washington. The head on this brew is severely lacking...basically there wasn't one. This brew started out amazing with tasty notes of wintergreen! Then....I'm not sure what happened? I was escorted to a hollow syrupy sticky existence....i was not impressed by the finish on this soda. There is supposed to be vanilla and I'm not sure I taste any...I think it's time to go back to the drawing board on this one. 3/10.

**ATTENTION** Top City Soda Pop Needs Our Help!!

Top City Soda Pop Needs Our Votes! Please click on the link and give them your support! They are an exciting new soda company with amazing creations on the horizon!


Zippy's Giant Root Beer

Zippy's Giant Burgers is a mom and pop joint located in Seattle, Washington. They've been flipping burgers since 2008. Their root beer is specially made for them by the amazing folks at Orca Beverage Company, which is close by in Mukilteo, Washington. I'm digging the label on this one...I tend to gravitate towards neon/loud labeling. This one in particular has a weird looking kid with a huge mug of root beer. The head on this brew started out nice, but dissipated rather quickly. The body has a delightful flavor profile, which consists of honey and vanilla. There isn't a strong presence of sassafras here, but it still works for me. In my opinion, it could be a tad less carbonated and a little more creamy. Overall, this is one solid brew and the burgers at this place look exquisite! 8/10.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

111 Dachshunds Root Beer

111 Dachshunds root beer is brewed and bottled at The Stone Cellar Brewpub, which is located in Appleton, Wisconsin.  111 Dachshunds root beer has been around since 2003. This is another soda company who helps sheltered dogs find good homes! Keep up the good work! Also....could this be another amazing brew from Wisconsin? Sure is! The head on this brew was more than adequate. The body is rich and full of flavor. The body consists of sassafras, vanilla, caramel, and a hint of wintergreen, which combine to create greatness. The finish is creamy vanilla with a little spicy wintergreen. Good stuff! Welcome to Brad's Brew of Fame! 9.5/10.

Reading Draft Root Beer

Reading Draft Soda is located in Reading, Pennsylvania and have been in business since 1921. Reading Draft is actually known for their birch beer. Birch Beer is really popular in Pennsylvania for some reason that's unbeknownst to me. I picked up this soda at a Rocket Fizz. The head on this brew is a little below par. It starts out ok but vanishes rather quickly. This soda is a little over carbonated in my opinion. It's extremely crisp and it's kind of prickly on the tongue. The body has a perfect level of sweetness, but it's not creamy. There is a noticeable note of vanilla but nothing else really stands out to me. This is average at best. 7/10